Simple Records



Simple Records' musical focus is deep, driving house, techno and electronica for the dancefloor. The core roster of artists includes Motorcitysoul, Phonique, Marc Romboy, Mike Monday, Content (Jesse Rose), King Roc, Andre Lodemann, James Priestley & Dan Berkson, Jim Rivers and label head Will Saul. Remixers include Mathew Jonson, Argy, Spiritcatcher, Jeff Samuel, Konrad Black, Isolee, Sebo K, Jimpster, Martin Landsky, 2020 Soundsystem and many more. The label is distributed by Word and Sound in Germany. Mike Place has created the design identity for the label - Design By Build

After three years of singles, the label made its first forays into the world of LPs in 2005. It began in February with Will Saul's widely praised debut compilation Simple One, which elegantly encapsulated the labels sound - edgy and deep yet tuneful and organic. In early summer Will followed with the release of his debut artist album Space Between, a soulful and melodic journey geared towards home listening rather than the dancefloor. Space Between was listed in IDJs top 20 LPs of 2005. It was accompanied by three beautifully crafted 12s remixed by Infusion, Swayzak and DJ T and featured vocals from Philly legend and former Roots vocalist Ursula Rucker.

2007 saw the label going from strength to strength, with monthly releases picking up praise across the board from press, producers and DJs alike. Marc Romboy, James Priestley & Dan Berson joined the roster for land mark releases whilst Will Saul released his ‘Simple Sounds’ LP project. Simple Sounds is a double CD that serves as an insight into where both of his influential labels stand in 2007, five years after Simples creation. Acting as A&R, artist and DJ for the project, his intention is to blur the distinction between the traditional artist LP and DJ mix. Will contributes new and exclusive tracks, selects remixers to work on some of his older material and sequences a DJ mix that captures the sound of both of his labels, Simple and Aus. Featuring tracks and remixes from Gui Boratto, Mathew Jonson, Spirit Catcher, My My, Sebo K, Wahoo, John Tejada, Marc Romboy and Alexkid to name a few.

2008 has seen the introduction of Andre Lodemann to the Simple Roster with his acclaimed 'Wanna Feel' EP. James Priestley & Dan Berkson delivered the 'Source EP' which was Phonica Records' house single of the month and Jim Rivers released his first single for Simple with a superb remix by Cadenza / Wagon Repair artist Tobias. Next up is the debut LP from Motorcitysoul with vocals from Ovasoul 7, Marlene Johnson and Ernesto. This is released on the 13th of October. The first Single 'Change You' is out now with a remix from Shur-I-Kan. The Soar/Hatohay EP is released on the 17th of November and features remixes from Move D and Manuel Tur & DPlay.

Don't forget to come down to The End where we hold a monthly label residency on the first Saturday of the month. Resident Will Saul teams up world renowned guests that have included Joakim, I:Cube, Efdemin, Roland Appel, Jesse Rose, Marc Romboy, Todd Terje and many many more.






All right reserved. 2010